More Immediate Communion With Him

The saints find the ease of the sabbath to be this, that, whereas upon the weekday I am busied about other things, and so have not that immediate communion with Jesus Christ as at other times, now upon the Sabbath my soul comes to enjoy more immediate communion with Jesus Christ. When I am awake I am put upon it more to mind spiritual things, to prepare my heart for him, and now this whole day is dedicated for my converse with Jesus Christ, and it is no more to me but the very type and forerunner of that eternal sabbath that I hope to enjoy in the highest heaven hereafter, and so it is easy to me.

~ Master Jer. Burroughs, Four Books on the Eleventh of Matthew, 656

Source: http://www.puritanboard.com/f25/sabbath-easy-83539/, Comment #1

Leave a Reply

